Texas, it’s who I am

Cody Canada of Cross Canadian Ragweed

Cross Canadian Ragweed

I love to express myself by sharing song lyrics that speak to me. This is one I’m loving right now. You can click on the link to watch the video and hear the song yourself.

Song Title: Who I Am

Artist: Wade Bowen & West 84

I love to watch the sunset as it fades behind the trees
Love to talk with god and you down upon my knees
I love the times I spend with my family and friends
Love to dream about all the places I’ve never been

And I love to watch you laugh and smile, I love to watch you dream
Love it when you take my hand just to let me know you believe in me
And I love it that you’re my girl, I love that I’m your man
Now that you’re in my life Baby I know exactly who I am

I know I love the ladies, I love to go out at night
I love it how we make up each and every time that we fight
I love you oh so very much, love you more than words can sayy
And I don’t know how or why but I love you more every day

And I love to watch you laugh and smile, I love to watch you dream
Love it when you take my hand just to let me know you believe in me
And I love it that you’re my girl, I love that I’m your man
Now that you’re in my life Baby I know exactly who I am

(Instrumental)

And I love to watch you laugh and smile, I love to watch you dream
Love it when you take my hand just to let me know you believe in me
And I love it that you’re my girl, I love that I’m your man
Now that you’re in my life Baby I know exactly who I am

[The End]

If you’ve never been to Texas, you might not understand that Texans have some serious pride for being a Texan. Living in Texas has a way of life, it’s a Texas State of Mind 😉 We have a whole genre of music called Texas Country. There are many many amazingly talented country artists that love to just sing about Texas. The song above is one in particular from one of my favorite artist, Wade Bowen. They sing about the food (Tex Mex, burritos, jalapenos, beer), Floating the river (Guadalupe, Frio, Comal), the gorgeous Texas women 😉 (think Jessica Simpson, Miranda Lambert), and just about everything there is growing up and living in Texas.  We even have our own Texas Music Charts

Notice the comments from fans in the video link I posted above the song lyrics. We embrace our music and don’t like it to be messed up. I agree with a lot of those comments. One comment in particular announced to Nashville to Please not sign the artist haha but it’s so true what the comment goes on to say. It comes from experience with one artist in particular, Pat Green. If any of you readers have heard his music, you might not know the history behind him and what a legend in Texas he was before signing with a major record label in Nashville. We miss the purity, the heart of his original music and what he used to stand for. So many of his Texas fans have decided to not buy any of his new music. They call him a “Sellout”. It’s never understood how money and fame become priorities over the raw art of the music that made them “Stars” around Texas.   

Here are a list of Texas Country music artists I recommend checking out 😉

Wade Bowen

Wade Bowen

 

Granger Smith

Granger Smith

 Randy Rogers Band

Randy Rogers Band

Seth James

Seth James

Roger Creager

Roger Creager

Kevin Fowler

Kevin Fowler

Jason Boland

Jason Boland

Eli Young Band  

Eli Young Band

Brandon Rhyder

Brandon Rhyder

Reckless Kelly

Reckless Kelly

Deryl Dodd

Deryl Dodd

 Aaron Watson

Aaron Watson

Cody Johnson 

Cody Johnson

the Oklahoma based and former Cross Canadian Ragweed 😦

 

~Love & Guitars 😉

About Julie (thelittletexasturtle)

I'm a full time working mama to 2 active teenagers. I love food!! I love to cook & experiment with recipes. I strive to eat as clean as possible. I love photography, dancing, wine, farmers markets, laughing...LIFE! I enjoy learning as much as I can about nutrition and fitness.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Texas, it’s who I am

  1. This is awesome! I lived in San Antonio for a while and when my hubby gets discharged that’s one of our top 3 places we’re thinking of planting our roots! =)

Leave a Reply

